Festival Awards

Recognising achievement and excellence, and nurturing new talent make an important contribution to maintaining a dynamic Australian folk community. The National Folk Festival is proud to host the following awards that are presented to individual artists and groups in recognition of artistic endeavour in folk music, dance and the folk arts.

Congratulations to the following 2019 Award Winners:

National Folk Festival Lifetime Achievement Award

Eric Bogle (SA)

National Folk Festival Volunteer of the Year Award
Alan Hill – Setup and Pack Down team (NSW)

National Folk Fellow Recipient 2018/19

Shane Lestideau (VIC) – “New Albion” Scottish music present in Australian musical culture.

Peter J Daly Memorial Award

Amber (VIC)

Lis Johnston Memorial Award for Vocal Excellence 

Not awarded in 2019

Gill Rees Young Musicians Award

Not awarded in 2019

Alistair Hulett Memorial Award

Penelope Swales (VIC) for her song Cambridge Analytica

FAA Young Performer of the Year

Saije (NSW)

Traditional Social Dance Association of Victoria Awards 

Beatrice Klippel Memorial Trophy – Cecilia Johnson (VIC) for Floriade
VFMC Perpetual Trophy – Keith Wood (NSW) for Monkey Mia Dolphins

National Folk Festival Reciter of the Year Award 

David Hallett (NSW)

National Folk Festival Yarn Spinning Award 

Not awarded in 2019

Blue the Shearer Award for Best Original Poem (NEW)

Irish Joe Lynch (QLD) for his poem Strawberries and Cream

Infinite Song Competition (Infinite Glam Rock)

Mélisande [Electrotrad]